History


The Drummond Foundation traces its roots back to the late 19th century, to Sir George Alexander Drummond and his second wife, Julia Parker Hamilton Drummond. Sir George and Lady Drummond were very active in the Montreal society of their day and shared a deep commitment to community service and philanthropy. This commitment was embraced by subsequent generations of their family and continues to this day, embodied in the Drummond Foundation.

Sir George Alexander Drummond

Sir George Alexander Drummond, KCMG CVO (1829 – 1910)

Early years and personal life
The son of a successful Edinburgh building contractor, Drummond studied Chemistry at the University of Edinburgh before moving to Montreal in 1854, at the invitation of his brother-in-law and family business associate John Redpath. Redpath engaged Drummond to run the technical aspects of his newly-established sugar refinery – later known as Redpath Sugar – on the Lachine Canal. In 1857, Drummond married Helen Elizabeth, John Redpath’s daughter from an earlier marriage. They had seven children together before Helen died in 1883. In 1884, Drummond married Grace Julia Parker Hamilton, the young widow of Reverend George Hamilton. Together, they had two sons, Julian St. George and Guy Melfort.

Business career
Drummond enjoyed a long and fruitful business career, principally in the sugar business, but also in a number of other manufacturing and financial enterprises. The Redpath Sugar business was a continuing central focus of his business life, and his family, under the leadership of his son Huntly Redpath Drummond, remained actively involved in the business for 50 years thereafter. An active member of the Montreal business community, Drummond became a member of the Montreal Board of Trade in 1864 and served as its president from 1886 to 1888. He also sat on the boards of several major corporations, including Canadian Pacific Railway. From 1887 to 1896, he was the vice-president of the Bank of Montreal, acting as its de facto President from 1897 and then formally its President from 1905 to his death in 1910. Drummond was also active in many civic organizations and was a founding member of a wide range of Montreal institutions, including the Royal Edward Institute (Montreal Chest Hospital), the Mount Royal Club and the Royal Canadian Golf Association.

Politics
Drummond had a lively interest in politics and was very active in the Conservative party. In 1888, Sir John A. Macdonald appointed Drummond to the Senate of Canada, where his views on commercial, financial, and fiscal matters were highly valued and where he served as Chair of the Banking and Finance Committee which he led until his death in 1910.

Arts and culture
Drummond had a lifelong passion for art collecting, and his Sherbrooke Street mansion housed an impressive collection of Old Masters and 19th century European art. He was one of the early board members of the Art Association of Montreal, which later became the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts and was its President from 1896 to 1899. He and his family donated a number of significant works from his art collection to the Museum.

Honours
For his many years of distinguished service to Canada and the British Empire, Drummond was made a Knight Commander of St. Michael and St. George (KCMG) in 1904, by H.M. King Edward VII, and was made a Commander of the Royal Victorian Order (CVO) in 1905.

Julia Parker Hamilton Drummond

Julia Parker Hamilton Drummond (1860 – 1942)

Early years and personal life
Grace Julia Parker was born in Montreal to Scottish parents. She was married firstly to George Hamilton in 1879, a young Anglican priest from an established Quebec family. Sadly, the Reverend Hamilton died a year later. In 1884, she married George Alexander Drummond, himself widowed in the prior year. Together, they had two sons: Julian St. George, who died in infancy; and Guy Melfort, who was killed in battle at Ypres in 1915, during the Great War.

Community service
Lady Drummond, as she later became known, was widely respected for her pioneer charity work and as a champion of the engagement of women in public life. She served as the first President of the Montreal branch of the National Council of Women in Canada (1893 to 1899), helped found the Montreal branch of the Victorian Order of Nurses (in 1899), served as the first President (and, with Elsie Meighen Reford, as a co-founder) of the Women’s Canadian Club of Montreal (1907-1908), and also served as President of the Ward of Mercy. In 1910, Sir George and Lady Drummond established the Charity Organization of Montreal, and Lady Drummond served as its President from 1911 to 1919.

Canadian Red Cross
At the start of the Great War in 1914, Lady Drummond travelled to London to work at the headquarters of the Canadian Red Cross, where she headed its Information Bureau. She personally funded most of her department’s activities, which involved providing news to the families of missing and wounded soldiers, as well as organizing housing and other support for Canadian soldiers in hospital or on leave in London.

Honours
For her outstanding service to Canada and the British Empire during the Great War, Lady Drummond was titled Lady of Grace of the Order of St. John of Jerusalem from that Order and was also awarded the French Médaille de Reconnaissance, the Serbian Red Cross Medal, and the British Red Cross Medal. She was widely considered, as reported in the newspapers of the time, as one of the "12 Greatest Canadian Women" for her work. In recognition of her community service and humanitarian work, Lady Drummond was the first woman ever to be awarded an honorary doctorate (LL. D.) from McGill University.



Between 1893 and 1945, Sir George Drummond, his son Huntly Redpath Drummond, and his niece Agnes Drummond, made charitable gifts and created charitable trusts – known as the Drummond Trusts – to support various philanthropic ventures.

1933 Notman House conservatory and passageway to Residents’ Pavilion

The Drummond Trusts initially supported St. Margaret’s Home for the Incurables, a nursing home for the aged and sick that was founded in 1883 by two Anglican nuns from the Sisterhood of the Society of Saint Margaret. In 1893, Sir George purchased the former house of renowned Montreal photographer William Notman, at 51 Sherbrooke Street West, for the benefit of the nuns, and in 1894, he financed the construction of a residential extension that allowed them to accommodate 50 residents.

Notman House Kitchen

By the 1920s the residents under care at St. Margaret’s Home were exclusively women. By the 1970s, the Home accommodated 60 residents, operating under the continuing management of the Sisters of St. Margaret with the financial support from the Drummond family. In 1975, after 92 years, the Sisters of St. Margaret withdrew from the management of the Home and St. Margaret’s continued on as a private not-for-profit institution. From 1982, as a result of new Quebec health and social services legislation, the Home was gradually integrated fully into the provincial public health care system, and in 1990 St. Margaret’s moved to its present-day location, a new purpose-built facility on Hillside Avenue in Westmount, Quebec.

1893 Notman House: garden façade before construction of Residents’ Pavilion

For almost a century, the Drummond family, through its Trusts, had been the main source of funding for St. Margaret’s Home, and, for several generations, members of the Drummond family have actively served on its Board of Directors alongside other volunteer members of the Montreal community. With the sustainability of St. Margaret’s assured by the new government funding arrangements, the Drummond family considered other charitable purposes for the Drummond Trusts.

1933 top floor of Residents’ Pavilion

In 1988, the family consolidated the various Drummond Trusts under the Drummond Foundation, to carry on the charitable work initiated by Sir George and Lady Drummond in the late 19th century. The objectives of the Drummond Foundation are the same as those that were originally set out for the Drummond Trusts, namely, “to provide relief from suffering and distress, to assist in the prevention of mental and physical illness, otherwise to aid the Incurable, the infirm, the sick and the aged, and for other kindred purposes.”

Together with a number of active volunteers from the Montreal community, a number of Drummond family descendants are actively involved with the Drummond Foundation to this day, including board members Alexander Drummond McNiven and Dr. Helen Elizabeth Ross, as well as Bruce Drummond McNiven, who serves as its President.

Today, the Drummond Foundation provides research grants to those working in Canada on ageing-related research and the improvement of the quality of life of socially, mentally or physically disadvantaged older adults, their families and caregivers. Through charitable grants, it also continues to support community organizations dedicated to a range of services and initiatives aiming to improve quality of life for Canada’s aging population.

Presidents of St. Margaret's Home

1894-1982

Sir George Alexander Drummond, KCMG, CVO 1894-
1910
1910-
1957
Huntly Redpath Drummond
Mary Dorothea Drummond Millar 1958-
1963
1963-
1973
Helen Elizabeth Drummond Henderson
Guy Melfort Drummond, QC 1973-
1982

Presidents of the Drummond Foundation

1982 - 2021

1988-
1999
Elaine Cahn
Bruce Drummond McNiven, CM 1999 to present

Histoire


Les origines de la Fondation Drummond remontent à la fin du 19e siècle, à Sir George Alexander Drummond et à sa seconde épouse, Julia Parker Hamilton Drummond. Sir George et Lady Drummond étaient très actifs dans la société montréalaise de leur époque et partageaient un profond engagement envers le service communautaire et la philanthropie. Cet engagement a été repris par les générations suivantes de leur famille et se poursuit encore aujourd’hui, incarné par la Fondation Drummond.

Sir George Alexander Drummond

Sir George Alexander Drummond, KCMG CVO (1829 – 1910)

Premières années et vie personnelle
Fils d’un entrepreneur en bâtiment prospère d’Édimbourg, Drummond étudie la chimie à l’Université d’Édimbourg avant de s’installer à Montréal en 1854, à l’invitation de son beau-frère et associé de la famille John Redpath. Celui-ci engage Drummond pour gérer les aspects techniques de sa nouvelle raffinerie de sucre ─ plus tard connue sous le nom de Redpath Sugar ─ sur le canal de Lachine. En 1857, Drummond épouse Helen Elizabeth, la fille de John Redpath issue d’un mariage antérieur. Ensemble, ils ont eu sept enfants avant que Helen ne décède en 1883. En 1884, Drummond épouse Grace Julia Parker Hamilton, la jeune veuve du révérend George Hamilton. Ensemble, ils ont eu deux fils, Julian St. George et Guy Melfort.

Carrière professionnelle
Drummond a connu une longue et fructueuse carrière dans le monde des affaires, principalement dans le secteur du sucre, mais aussi dans certaines autres entreprises manufacturières et financières. L’entreprise Redpath Sugar a toujours été au cœur de sa vie professionnelle, et sa famille, sous la direction de son fils Huntly Redpath Drummond, est restée activement impliquée dans l’entreprise pendant 50 ans. Membre actif de la communauté des affaires de Montréal, M. Drummond est devenu membre de la Chambre de commerce de Montréal en 1864 et en a été le président de 1886 à 1888. Il a également siégé au conseil d’administration de plusieurs grandes sociétés, dont le Canadien Pacifique. De 1887 à 1896, il a été vice-président de la Banque de Montréal, dont il a été le président de facto à partir de 1897, puis le président officiel de 1905 à sa mort en 1910. M. Drummond était également actif dans de nombreuses organisations civiles et était membre fondateur d’un grand nombre d’institutions montréalaises, dont l’Institut Royal Edward (Hôpital thoracique de Montréal), le Mount Royal Club et l’Association royale de golf du Canada.

Politique
Drummond s’intéressait vivement à la politique et était très actif au sein du parti conservateur. En 1888, Sir John A. Macdonald nomma Drummond au Sénat du Canada, où ses opinions sur les questions commerciales, financières et fiscales étaient très estimées et où il fut président du Comité des banques et des finances qu’il dirigea jusqu’à sa mort en 1910.

Arts et culture
Drummond a toujours eu une passion pour la collection d’art, et son manoir de la rue Sherbrooke abritait une impressionnante collection de maîtres anciens et d’art européen du XIXe siècle. Il fut l’un des premiers membres du conseil d’administration de l’Art Association of Montreal, qui deviendra plus tard le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, et en fut le président de 1896 à 1899. Lui et sa famille ont fait don au Musée d’un certain nombre d’œuvres importantes de sa collection d’art.

Honneurs
Pour ses nombreuses années de services distingués au Canada et à l’Empire britannique, Drummond a été fait chevalier commandeur de Saint-Michel et Saint-Georges (KCMG) en 1904, par S.M. le roi Édouard VII, et a été fait commandeur de l’Ordre royal de Victoria (CVO) en 1905.

Julia Parker Hamilton Drummond

Julia Parker Hamilton Drummond (1860 – 1942)

Premières années et vie personnelle
Grace Julia Parker est née à Montréal de parents écossais. Elle se marie d’abord avec George Hamilton en 1879, un jeune prêtre anglican issu d’une famille québécoise établie. Malheureusement, le révérend Hamilton meurt un an plus tard. En 1884, elle épouse George Alexander Drummond, lui-même devenu veuf l’année précédente. Ensemble, ils ont deux fils : Julian St. George, qui est mort en bas âge, et Guy Melfort, qui a été tué au combat à Ypres en 1915, pendant la Grande Guerre.

Service communautaire
Lady Drummond, comme on l’appellera plus tard, était très respectée pour son action caritative pionnière et comme chef de file de l’engagement des femmes dans la vie publique. Elle a été la première présidente de la section montréalaise du Conseil national des femmes du Canada (1893 à 1899), a participé à la fondation de la section montréalaise des Infirmières de l’Ordre de Victoria (en 1899), a été la première présidente (et cofondatrice, avec Elsie Meighen Reford) du Women’s Canadian Club of Montreal (1907-1908) et a également été présidente du Ward of Mercy. En 1910, Sir George et Lady Drummond ont créé la Charity Organization of Montreal, dont Lady Drummond a été la présidente de 1911 à 1919.

La Croix-Rouge canadienne
Au début de la Grande Guerre en 1914, Lady Drummond se rendit à Londres pour travailler au siège de la Croix-Rouge canadienne, où elle dirigea le bureau d’information. Elle a financé personnellement la plupart des activités de son service, qui consistaient à donner des nouvelles aux familles des soldats disparus ou blessés, ainsi qu’à organiser le logement et d’autres formes de soutien pour les soldats canadiens hospitalisés ou en permission à Londres.

Honneurs
Pour les services exceptionnels qu’elle a rendus au Canada et à l’Empire britannique pendant la Grande Guerre, Lady Drummond a reçu le titre de Dame de grâce de l’Ordre de Saint-Jean de Jérusalem. Elle a également reçu la médaille de reconnaissance française, la médaille de la Croix-Rouge serbe et la médaille de la Croix-Rouge britannique. Elle était largement considérée, comme le rapportaient les journaux de l’époque, comme l’une des « 12 plus grandes femmes canadiennes » pour son travail. En reconnaissance de son service communautaire et de son travail humanitaire, Lady Drummond a été la première femme à recevoir un doctorat honorifique (LL. D.) de l’Université McGill.



Entre 1893 et 1945, Sir George Drummond, son fils Huntly Redpath Drummond et sa nièce Agnes Drummond ont fait des dons de bienfaisance et créé des fiducies de bienfaisance – connues sous le nom de Drummond Trusts – pour soutenir diverses initiatives philanthropiques.

1933 : la passerelle et le jardin d’hiver de la maison Notman

Les fiducies Drummond ont d’abord soutenu le “St. Margaret’s Home for the Incurables”, une maison de soins pour les personnes âgées et malades, qui a été fondée en 1883 par deux religieuses anglicanes de la Sisterhood of the Society of Saint Margaret. En 1893, Sir George a acheté l’ancienne maison du célèbre photographe montréalais William Notman, au 51, rue Sherbrooke Ouest, au profit des religieuses, et en 1894, il a financé la construction d’une extension résidentielle qui leur a permis d’accueillir 50 résidents.

Cuisine de la maison Notman

Dans les années 1920, les résidents pris en charge par St. Margaret’s Home étaient exclusivement des femmes. Dans les années 1970, le foyer accueillait 60 résidents, sous la gestion continue des Sœurs de St. Margaret et avec le soutien financier de la famille Drummond. En 1975, après 92 ans, les Sœurs de St. Margaret se sont retirées de la gestion du foyer et St. Margaret a continué à fonctionner comme une institution privée à but non lucratif. À partir de 1982, à la suite de la nouvelle législation québécoise sur la santé et les services sociaux, le foyer a été progressivement intégré au système de santé public provincial et, en 1990, St. Margaret a déménagé dans ses locaux actuels, un nouvel établissement construit à cet effet sur l’avenue Hillside à Westmount, au Québec.

1893 Maison Notman : façade jardin avant la construction du Pavillon des résidentes

Pendant près d’un siècle, la famille Drummond, par l’intermédiaire de ses fiducies, avait été la principale source de financement de St. Margaret’s Home et, depuis plusieurs générations, des membres de la famille Drummond ont siégé activement à son conseil d’administration aux côtés d’autres membres bénévoles de la communauté montréalaise. St. Margaret étant assurée par les nouvelles dispositions de financement du gouvernement, la famille Drummond a envisagé d’autres objectifs caritatifs pour les fiducies Drummond.

1933 : dernier étage du Pavillon des résidentes

En 1988, la famille a regroupé les diverses fiducies Drummond sous la Fondation Drummond, afin de poursuivre l’œuvre de bienfaisance initiée par Sir George et Lady Drummond à la fin du 19e siècle. Les objectifs de la Fondation Drummond sont les mêmes que ceux qui avaient été fixés à l’origine pour les Drummond Trusts, à savoir « soulager la souffrance et la détresse, aider à la prévention des maladies mentales et physiques, aider les Incurables, les infirmes, les malades et les personnes âgées, et à d’autres fins similaires. »

Aidés par un groupe de bénévoles actifs de la communauté montréalaise, des descendants de la famille Drummond sont, jusqu’à ce jour, activement impliqués dans la Fondation Drummond, y compris les membres du conseil d’administration Alexander Drummond McNiven et Dre Helen Elizabeth Ross, ainsi que Bruce Drummond McNiven, qui en est le président.

Aujourd’hui, la Fondation Drummond accorde des subventions de recherche à ceux qui travaillent au Canada sur la recherche liée au vieillissement et sur l’amélioration de la qualité de vie des personnes âgées socialement, mentalement ou physiquement défavorisées, de leurs familles et de leurs soignants. Par le biais de subventions de bienfaisance, elle continue également à soutenir les organismes communautaires qui se consacrent à un éventail de services et d’initiatives visant à améliorer la qualité de vie de la population vieillissante du Canada.

Présidents du foyer St-Margaret

1894-1982

Sir George Alexander Drummond, KCMG, CVO 1894-
1910
1910-
1957
Huntly Redpath Drummond
Mary Dorothea Drummond Millar 1958-
1963
1963-
1973
Helen Elizabeth Drummond Henderson
Guy Melfort Drummond, QC 1973-
1982

Présidents de la Fondation Drummond

1982 - 2021

1988-
1999
Elaine Cahn
Bruce Drummond McNiven, CM 1999 au présent